Nina Rhode: Friendly Fire

I got a chance to pop along to Dundee Contemporary Arts this afternoon and see the work of Nina Rhode, a German artist, whose main medium is sculpture. Her work is really evocative, and fun to view and interact with. She is a member of the art collective Honey-Suckle Company in Berlin.
A lot of her work moves in a mesmerising manner, and the audience are encouraged to interact with it. I really enjoyed ‘Gong’, a tree trunk that could be swung from side to side with a rope to crash into steel plates on either side (I’m sure it was driving the invigilator nuts though…).
Her work is very colourful and playful, I found myself leaving the exhibition feeling really inspired, especially by the way she touches on emotions and memories of those viewing her work. I think I need to get the sketchbook out.

Helen*

Leave a Reply

