Gold!

OK, so its gold leaf, but still pretty exciting and still 24 karat!
This is what I got up to on the torch on Monday:

I really wanted to try this technique as the final product looks a bit like marble, so kind of gravestone-ish, although I maybe got a bit carried away with the gold! I’m going to try Keum-Boo (fusing gold foil onto silver) for the first time next week, so at least this ties in. Less gold next time, its meant to be about graveyards, so not too decadent. Next in line for my lampworking is the dreaded stringer control. I’m getting better with practice, but I don’t want to show anything yet. I love the effect of very thin black stringer, it looks like line drawings. So off to do more practice, practice, practice!

Helen*

P.S. Thanks for all the sketchbook comments, they are very helpful for my dissertation planning! x

Leave a Reply

