Dissent and Degree Show


I went back to ‘Meet Your Maker’ today, it was just as good as last week. I’ll probably go back next week aswell! This time, it really got me thinking about my degree show and source project (which is three semesters away, but we are working on it already!). All I know is that I’m inspired by man made environments. I took a while today to sketch some Industrial Revolution textile looms, which reminded me of a course I did when I was studying English Literature, The Fiction of Doubt. It was centred around works of fiction written during Britain’s Industrial Revolution, a time of absolute social upheaval. I was really interested in the number of people classed as ‘dissenters’ during the time (people who decided to question literal Christianity), and the huge turning point it became for dissent – though still frowned upon, enough people owned up to this ‘doubt’ that it began to be accepted. Works included were Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre, Elizabeth Gaskell’s North and South and Thomas Carlyle’s Sartor Resartus. A lot of my work has been influenced by juxtaposition in society, and I think this is definitely something I need to explore further in my source project. Its not dissimilar to my current project on Greyfriars Kirkyard actually, just slightly less gory…

Leave a Reply

