Meet Your Maker

Last week I went to see ‘Meet Your Maker’, an exhibition at the National Museum of Scotland. If you are going to be in Edinburgh before the 14th of March, go and see it! It was brilliant, and so inspiring to see what recent graduates of Scotland’s art colleges are doing. Obviously, I made a beeline for the jewellery, especially Ebba Redman’s work, as she graduated from Duncan of Jordanstone in 2009. She was actually there doing sketchbook work and chatting to the visitors, which was really interesting. Her work is based around crochet and domestic crafts. You can find out more about her at her website: www.ebbaredman.com

I particularily loved the work of another Jeweller there, Pauline Edie. She is a 2009 graduate of Glasgow School of Art Jewellery. What stood out about her work is the fact she is influenced by illustration and storytelling, which is something I am trying to develop my work from.

She is influenced by fairy tales, and I love her Rapunzel neckpiece and brooch (pictured)

Her website is www.paulineedie.com

All in all the exhibition was so inspiring, and I think I’m going to go back tomorrow!

Have a good weekend!

Helen*

One response to “Meet Your Maker

  1. I went to see meet your maker on Wednesday, loved it. I love Pauline’s stuff too. If you go back to meet your maker pop along to the dovecot. There are a couple of exhibitions on, slow craft revolution and Bishopsland exhibition and Pauline is in that too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

